Back from Outback

I just had four days out remote by myself. Des was on leave. He went bush to do a bit of gold prospecting and reestablish his connection with the country. I had the use of a Donga in Mulan that belongs to youth Services, but I had not anticipated there being no bedding there. I had some very cold nights. It is bloody freezing out in the desert at this time of year.

I got a lot done.  Apart from the trachoma and hygiene health promotion at the schools, and some community engagement, I inspected two outback stores and a mine kitchen, three septic tank installations and a rubbish tip. And drove to the NT border just for the hell of it. I did a total of over 1200 km and had a ball. They pay me for this. It really is true that if you are doing something you love, you never have to work again. The only gripe I have is that I missed three episodes of Dr Who. Also, I came back with a cold, but having earned a bit of time in lieu, I took today off to rest and recuperate. Nice to be warm.

At lake Stretch, also known as Stretch Lagoon, on the Sturt, I came upon a group or grey nomads who all had Oka 4WD trucks that had been converted for their particular use.  These look interesting. They tell me they are completely made up of generic parts used in other vehicles and that even now spares are not a problem.  Also they go anywhere, carry anything, and give a comfortable and economical ride.  Must look into this further.

I finally got the satellite phone working, which was a relief to Musa, the boss. He worries a lot.

I also created a new risotto that was so good I may just post it on Kummerspeck.

                         

Author: Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.

Please leave a Comment

