Bottled Water

5 years ago, in another country, I wrote about the cost and extortionate profits of bottled water. 

I still feel the same about it, though I have tempered my opinion with the practical reality of living in a desert environment where the naturally occurring water, even when treated, is unpleasant to drink – and not so thirst-quenching anyway – due to its hardness.  Wherever I can I still refill my bottles with tap water that has been through a zeolite filter.  However we need to carry so much with us when we travel that from a practical  point of view, bottled is necessary.  The waste and environmental concerns are still on my mind.  On the plus side, two dozen 600ml bottles from Coles are only $8.  That is a mere $1800 a cubic metre. Probably only around 500 times the cost of tap water here.

Author: Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.

Please leave a Comment

