Stormy Weather

A second great deluge this afternoon.  The roof must be well washed clean by now, so next time I shall start filling my water bottles. I have well over a dozen 4 litre bottles that originally contained “distilled” water for my CPAP machine.  At $5.50 a bottle, and a bottle about every two or three weeks, rain will be a fine economical substitute.  I only threw a couple of bottles away before I decided to stockpile them for the rainy season so I should have almost a years supply after the next rain.  I also have a couple of 15 litre bottles with taps, that I can refrigerate for drinking.

The electrical storm was (and still is) amazing.  After work, to get a better view and take some photos, I drove down the Duncan into the hills near Old Halls Creek.  It was well worth the effort. I was surrounded by spectacular shows of lightning striking the hills all around.   Unfortunately the Lightning danced around me so much my camera was always pointing in the wrong direction.  Eventually I gave up trying and just sat back to watch the light show, and listen to the thunder.  I drove back in the evening gloom still being startled by the flashes and rolling sonic booms.

Even now I am sitting with my iPad in my carport – where it is cooler than it has been for weeks – enjoying the sound of rain and rolling thunder while watching the neighbourhood briefly illuminated every minute or so.  A salmon salad is waiting for me inside.

Love this weather.

Author: Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.

2 thoughts on “Stormy Weather”

Please leave a Comment

