I Ain’t Got No Home.

I ain’t got no home, I’m just a-roamin’ ’round,

Just a wandrin’ worker, I go from town to town.

And the police make it hard wherever I may go

And I ain’t got no home in this world anymore.

My brothers and my sisters are stranded on this road,

A hot and dusty road that a million feet have trod;

Rich man took my home and drove me from my door

And I ain’t got no home in this world anymore.

Was a-farmin’ on the shares, and always I was poor;

My crops I lay into the banker’s store.

My wife took down and died upon the cabin floor,

And I ain’t got no home in this world anymore.

I mined in your mines and I gathered in your corn

I been working, mister, since the day I was born

Now I worry all the time like I never did before

‘Cause I ain’t got no home in this world anymore

Woody Guthrie

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in autobiography, History, poetry, travel and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Comment

