Week One in Kururrungku

Progress report:
 
I now have two messy houses. One I am moving from, and one I am moving to. Still trying to work out what comes, what gets dumped and what gets stored. Since the entire donga is not much larger in area than my previous lounge this is proving trickier than anticipated.
At the donga, the grass is cut, and the brown snakes now have nowhere to hide. I am getting two goats soon, and have already identified some recyclable material for a chicken coop. There’s a young camel that wanders around.
 
_DSC2968.jpg
The neighbour’s dogs like me.
 
In community, I have already made some helpful and friendly contacts. I have a basketballer willing to coach the kids. The community is very friendly. The kids are kids. My biggest problem so far is sorting out who is who, and how old they are. I work with over 12s in theory. My second biggest problem is parsing accents, and understanding kriol.
 
The girls are pestering me to organise sports and activities for them as well as the boys, a point well taken and a priority.
 
A good first week.
 
And the sky at night out there…..
About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in autobiography, travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Comment

