A little Life

Just a couple of days after I told the little dog that she and I would be companions henceforth, and that I would look after her, she went out and indulged in her one vice; car chasing.  I did not see, but I heard, her get bowled.  She came limping back bruised and grazed, and looking very sorry for herself.  The accident knocked six bells out of her.

I checked her carefully for broken bones but I could find nothing wrong except that she was grazed and bruised and plainly stiff and sore..  She favoured one leg a little.   After I treated the grazes with Bactoban all I could do was make her comfortable and give her water and food.  She became very quiet and just lay still all day. She did not move much, and her tail no longer wagged when I spoke to her. But she soon found strength to come over and lay at my feet.  I thought the upside of this is that my ministrations seem to have bonded her to me quite strongly. She is definitely my dog now. As she is reasonably smart, I doubt she will chase cars any more.

But she has not improved.  At first I suspected internal bleeding but I figured if she was something would show, or she’d die.   She couldn’t eat. Already thin, she became skeletal. Then she began to regain her appetite and I felt optimistic. I don’t know what she got to eat before other than scraps and scavenge, but she seemed to appreciate anything I offered, for a while.  She also seemed very happy whenever I was near.  However she has since fallen back into lassitude, and it is all I can do to persuade her to swallow a mouthful of gravy, or porridge, or chicken mince, or milk and egg.  She is mobile if necessary, and goes outside to relieve herself, returns and sleeps or rests quietly.

The nearest vet is six hours away from Bililuna by car.  I brought her with me when I came up to Halls Creek to continue packing but I ended up spending most of my time looking after the pup.  As Monday is usually one of my days off, and is a holiday here (Queens Birthday) tomorrow is my day off instead.  So we are going to Kununurra to see a vet.  Her little life is in my hands.  It is a responsibility we take on when we accept companionship and trust.  IMG_3162

 

Author: Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.

2 thoughts on “A little Life”

Please leave a Comment

