Update

A visit to hospital yesterday with a very painful dose of cellulitis in my right small toe. I must have stubbed it and picked up an infection out in the wilderness.  I wear sandals because the flat soles are easier on my arthritic knees.  That leaves my toes vulnerable to knocks and scrapes.

It was an opportunity for a checkup.  My blood sugar is a very healthy 5.2, my blood pressure is still excellent, thanks to medication and a healthier lifestyle, and I am now 12 kg lighter. Still a way to go there, however.

The little bitch from Bililuna is also recovering. She is eating well.  I give her small, frequent meals and she rests between them.  She is still shy and nervous.  She evidently can’t believe she has a new friend, is allowed inside the house, has her own bed and is welcome to come to me for a scratch and a pat whenever she feels the need.  We are going to get along fine.  She is managing well on three legs, even using the lame one a little, and seems not to be in any pain.  Rest and food will fill out the gaps between her ribs, and I hope that encouragement and care will get rid of her fear and shyness.

Between us, a lame arthritic old codger, and a lame shy young girl dog, we make a strangely appropriate pair.

Author: Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.

1 thought on “Update”

Please leave a Comment

