Pup’s Progress

Little Ceann Beag, or “Puppy” as I still address her, is coming along really well.  The gaps between her ribs have filled out and she is looking quite sleek. Her fur is softer and shinier.  The little spot of demodectic mange on her head is clearing up and growing new fur. She still limps and always will, but her dislocated hip does not seem to cause her any distress.  She can’t jump well yet but I have no doubt that will change in time.

She is eating well, and still gets an egg and milk every morning, a few scraps and leftovers such as  fat cut from my steaks.  I ensure she has a full bowl all day of crunchy tasty dried Pedigree dog food that she can eat whenever she chooses.  Despite her upbringing and probable constant hunger hitherto, she is not a greedy eater. She eats what she needs and snacks on and off during the day.  One small problem is that I now must move her food into the donga after breakfast, because the crows have discovered it.  They congregate every morning on the fence waiting for me to leave so they can raid her bowl.  She does not have the assertiveness yet to drive them off.  Mind you, They are almost as big as she is, and well armed with beak and claw. Very similar to the relative size of Emu and me.  If Emu got stroppy, I would retreat quite hastily.

Now that she is clean and free of worms, ticks and lice, she is allowed to sleep on her own little bed in my room.  She is happiest when she is at my side,  laying at my feet, or at least nearby.  So far no problems with house training and continence matters.  She is not destructive.  She seems happy.  Her tail wags a lot whenever she is with me. Only her timid temperament needs work. She is very clearly my dog – or I am her human – and she makes that very plain to other dogs. No timidity there.  It is people she needs to get used to.  And crows.  I hope I can help her become more assertive. She has evidently been an underdog for a long time.

She and Sally the goat have learned to tolerate each other.  That is a plus.

Best of all there is no sign of any desire to chase cars.  I am guessing that this bad habit, along with goat attacking, was just her trying to fit in with her now-deceased pack.   Now she only needs to fit in with me.  That should not be too hard, surely?

IMG_3214.JPG

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in autobiography, Pets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Pup’s Progress

  1. taboardman56 says:

    So very sorry you’re lost her. She knew your love for a little while.

    Like

Please leave a Comment

