so it goes

This morning started out looking as if I was going to have an amusing series of animal anecdotes to relate this evening.

The Little One was unusually bouncy and playful.  She found a ginger beer can to play with from the rubbish.  I’d never seen her playful before.  She almost had the courage and assertiveness  to fight me for it when I went to take it from her (so I could throw it for her) then she suddenly realised what she was doing and went back into submissive mode.  Still, it was promising.  She very happily accompanied me in the troopy on my morning patrol to try and coax the truants to go to school (there was a lot today).  She was alert and perky, looking out the window rather than crouching on the seat as she usually did.  Her ears were up and her tail wagging like crazy as she supervised me  loading up the troopy with some scrap lumber and pallets to use to build a chicken coop .  She was bouncing around as if her lame leg did not bother her at all.

So when the vets arrived as expected to carry out a neutering program on the community dogs I surrendered her without a second thought.  She was in good health again, and clearly feeling well.  She  should be spayed.  It is part of my job, as I see it, to encourage improved community (and dog) health, and that involves participating in such programs.  I live in the community, with a community dog.

Corey the Ranger arrived with veterinary medications.  I invited him to lunch.

We dined al fresco on the veranda and had to fight off Sally the goat, who is very curious about everything humans get up to.  She wanted to climb on the table and check out what we were eating and drinking (sausages with beans and iced coffee).

Later the vet and his assistant came to see me – without the pup.  I didn’t need to be told.

Puppy had died under the anaesthetic. The vet had tried to resuscitate. I know he did his best.  He is the vet who trained  Corey and me in the animal health program in Broome last year.

So it goes.

_DSC1583.JPG

 

 

 

Author: Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.

2 thoughts on “so it goes”

Please leave a Comment

