This Goat’s in Love with Me

I have been feeding Sally the Goat by hand. Part of my strategy to keep her docile and manageable.  She gets a bit of guinea-pig/rabbit food now and then as a treat, and the occasional slice of stale bread.  The problem is that she now believes that she is my best friend. Especially now there is no dog hanging around me all the time.

goat

She has also discovered the pleasures of being scratched between the horns and behind the ears.  Today while I was dismantling pallets for the lumber, she constantly butted in, checking out what I am doing and offering her skull to scratch.  This evening as I had a well-earned cool drink of lemon, lime and bitters on the deck she even tried to climb onto my lap.  Having never owned or kept a goat before I am surprised and a little delighted at how sociable they can be.  Tamara need have no worries about her ending up on my table. I would be a lousy farmer.  Despite the nuisance factor, she is quite fun.

Interesting though that she will not let any of the local children approach her.  She even warns me when they show up at my place, something they keep doing despite my repeated efforts to set boundaries.  I am having a hard time convincing some of them that I am not available when I am at home or on my days off. Just as I am having a hard time convincing Sally that she can’t come into the house with me.

Kids.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in autobiography, Pets and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to This Goat’s in Love with Me

  1. taboardman56 says:

    Kids, eh? Sometimes a pain in the butt.

    Liked by 1 person

Please leave a Comment

