Unseasonal Weather

I drove up to Halls Creek on Sunday ready to pick up a few things on Monday and complete some admin stuff at the Shire office.  Sunday and Monday are my weekend days, but I often end up doing work stuff.  No problem because my days and hours are flexible.  I hadn’t planned to, but I ended up staying Monday night as well. I still needed to shop for hardware and a few items for the Youth Centre.

Then the rain started.  Surprisingly heavy and totally unexpected at this time of year in the midst of the dry season.  On Tuesday morning Budgie warned me he was planning to close the Tanami so I should get started for home, which I did.  It was already pretty hairy between Ruby Plain and the Wolfe Creek Crater turnoff.  I was down to 40 or 50 kph and still sliding around.  The trip usually takes me two hours and fifteen minutes. Today it took well over three hours.  By the time I arrived the troopy was red with mud from top to bottom.

When I arrived in Billiluna a convoy of Grey Nomad tourists up from the Alice Springs end were fueling up ready to head north. I had the fun of telling them they could not go, and indeed they should not. I advised them to camp locally.  Fortunately I was able to tell them where the good spots were.

I phoned Budgie to give him a road report and headed for bed very early.  I had eaten one takeaway meal in Halls Creek on Monday and ended up with a nasty dose of what I suspect was Bacillus cereus intoxication.

Wednesday is going to be a day of bed rest.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in autobiography, travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Comment

