Food for Emu Chicks

My little emu chicks have already visibly grown. If I could find my kitchen scales, I’d weigh them. They are eating really well and today they ran around the yard very energetically. They are much more steady on their feet. They also tried eating grass and weeds. They found a little patch of quartz gravel and ate a few bits, which will help them grind their food in their crops.

chk_3307-EFFECTS.jpg

They already know what they are doing!

I have just prepared them a new food mixture which I shall freeze in batches. This mix is based on professional advice:

EMU CHICK FOOD MkII.

  • Dry dog food: 1 cup
  • chicken pellets: 1 cup
  • wheat: 1 cup,
  • Budgie seed, 1 cup
  • half a cauliflower,
  • half a broccoli,
  • 2 carrots.

All whizzed in the food processor, except the wheat which is too strong. That got pulverised in the blender then mixed in.  I am also soaking some wheat to let it sprout.

I don’t think they will be needing this for long, at the rate they are developing. When they are just a little older they wont need the food to be processed. For the Mk III version I shall just chop the veges for them and throw in the other ingredients.  I shall also add frozen peas and parrot seed mix.  .

IMG_3355

The reason for only half a broccoli and cauli is that they are bloody expensive out here, and I have to eat too.

Author: Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.

3 thoughts on “Food for Emu Chicks”

  1. Hi Alan, I’ve just read your blog from woe to go, it’s taken most of the evening but I have found it fascinating. Must say though the death of the pup was a complete shock. Also sorry to see the bike go. At 72 I still ride regularly and would be sad if I couldn’t. I’ve just completed an 8 day ride from Gippsland to Mildura and SA. Also enjoyed the poetry – I enjoy the power of poetry and tonight I was reminded I’ve fallen out of the habit of reading it. I understand your desire to write for your ‘future self’ perfectly. When I took up motorcycling at age 65, I knew I wouldn’t have decades of riding to look forward to and so I started a blog for myself – something to look back on when I no longer could or wanted to ride. Although I am still an active rider I get a great deal of satisfaction reading my older blogs and reliving the great days on the bike. Your allusions to life in the tropics also rang a bell. For some years I worked in PNG and in the NT. Good luck with everything you’re doing and I will look in from time to time to check on you, the kids and the menagerie.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Theo. thanks for dropping by and for having the patience to read my maunderings. Did you go back to the original too? https://stefford.wordpress.com/
      I have just sold the bike at last. I originally planned to replace it with something that could cope with the desert roads and tracks of the Kimberley, but a CT scan has given me some news about the status of the lumbar region of my back and suggests I won’t be doing much riding in future. Never mind. I still have four wheels and some dtermination.

      Best wishes!

      Like

Please leave a Comment

