Sponned – From the Film of the Same Name*

Last Thursday I managed at last to discuss my CT scan with Dr Anne.  In addition to the arthritis in my legs and fingers, and the other conditions I have reported over the years, I also have degenerative spondylosis which it seems, is just another nasty way to suffer osteoarthritis in the spine.  It accounts for some of the pain and most of the increasing loss of mobility.

So it goes.

I am determined to stay mobile until I fall over or need a wheelchair.  I shall not give up my lifestyle even though my recent visit to the Kakadu proved once and for all there are now many places I can no longer go where once I would have explored with determination and agility.

This, and my approaching 65th birthday, has led me to consider what I shall do with myself when I am no longer working.  I have no plans to retire as long as I can keep going with this job I have now, but I do want to continue my explorations of this country before I can no longer get around.

I have saved enough to pay cash for one of these, with all options, which include an annexe. It may be too small, but I may never be able to afford anything larger.

Should I do it?  This will likely be my retirement home if I do. Which means I shall have to dispose of a shitload of stuff. But I would anyway.

littleguycamper

Speaking of approaching birthdays, Dr Anna told me that my back was pretty worn out for a 43 year old.  When I corrected her and told her I was almost 65 the look on her face was the most convincingly flattering thing that has happened to me for a long while.  It made me smile.  When I look back on all the things I have done in those years, I can’t complain.

* Willum:  Cor! I’ve been sponned!  From the film of the same name. – quote from The Goon Show 
About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in autobiography, travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sponned – From the Film of the Same Name*

  1. Bob Macfarlane says:

    You will need a Troopy or similar to,pull it. That would also add to your storage space. Come to Gizo before you finally seize up.

    Like

Please leave a Comment

