Tug

It is most encouraging, and not a little gratifying, to learn that my superiors and colleagues – former and current – have a higher opinion of my capabilities than I have.

The remaining EHO position at the Shire will be vacant from December 23rd.  The CEO and my former and current managers have been talking to me about considering taking it on, or encouraging me to remain where I am, depending on their point of view.  The fact that both managers want my services is good for my ego.

On the one hand, the EHO position is well paid, and a permanent appointment. I can hold it until I keel over.  I have been assured that my mobility issues will not be a problem, and will be accommodated.  On the other, my current position is funded to September 2017, and may or may not continue after then.  Both have different kinds of stress associated.

I have thought it over carefully and conclude that I am content where I am.  It may not be the most sensible decision, but wherever I find myself, I tend to believe I should behave as if that is where I should be.  My future self can take comfort on the darker days that good people have faith in me, even when I am finding it difficult to believe in myself.

IMG_3418.JPG

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in autobiography, Philosophy and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Tug

  1. Good luck – look forward to your continuing posts.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pilgrim33 says:

    Doing what feels right will,as you say,be comfort in the future.
    But is that worth financial security?

    Like

  3. Alan says:

    Also, after they asked how long I’d be staying, I promised the kids I would stay as long as they wanted me there. My predecessors did not last long it seems. Must keep promises.

    Like

Please leave a Comment

