Stuff and Sally

Someone burgled my place in Billiluna about a month ago. I was on leave at the time. .  I headed down there as soon as the road was reopened. This is the fifth burglary I have endured but the first in Australia.  And what a strange burglary. Sally the goat got in after the thieves had broken open the doors, taken what they wanted and left. She soiled the place well and truly. Even my bed.  But what is really odd is the list of what was taken and what was not.   I have quite a few cameras.  I had three with me and left two behind. One, the Olympus mu Tough, was taken. My Go Pro Hero was not.  A brand new still-in-the-box 5.1 stereo receiver was gone, along with two small speakers from my computer. The laptops and computer remained. . My electric drill was taken.  So was my Thomas Cook Outback hat.  A seemingly random selection of foodstuffs vanished, as did  my shampoo, bath gel and toothpaste, and my hair clippers.  to my relief a few personally precious items and my memorabilia were still there, except a hand-made knife that came from Samarkand.

From outside the donga, my rolls of cyclone wire, intended for a secure chicken run and goat pen were taken, along with my hoses and fittings.

Although the donga and door are very sturdy, the latch that holds the door closed was flimsy and easily levered.  Once I secured the door with a steel plate and massive bolt and padlock I was pretty confident that all but the most determined burglar, equipped with an angle grinder  would be kept out.

I then headed back out to take one of my youngsters to Kununurra to arrange a bank account for the pay from his new job.  That was when the rains set in and I have not been able to return since. So here I am in Halls Creek.

Then just this morning I heard that Sally the Goat has been killed by marauding dogs.

Bugger.  I am not having much luck with my animals.

Vale Sally.

Lately I have come to accept that I just have too much stuff.

I must figure out what to do with it.

I must get rid of it somehow.

And no more pets.

Author: Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.

3 thoughts on “Stuff and Sally”

Please leave a Comment

