SPQ

I am still in Halls Creek, and it seems I may be here for quite some time.  The storms are wreaking havoc with the roads.  The rivers are up and even on a wee excursion up to view the Mary river after work a couple of days ago I drove through three floodways, the deepest of which was 300 mm.  I went up to see if the old causeway across the river was still there.  There was talk of it failing late last year as it has not been maintained since the new bridge was erected.  I thought the floods may have done the job,  but it was still there, judging by the shape under the standing wave of crashing red water.

I am now staying in the Single Persons’ Quarters, which I have to myself at present.  My room is small but comfortable, and the shared facilities consist of a large lounge and well equipped kitchen, laundry facilities, and the best shower I have had since coming to Western Australia.

While here in HC I will be working with some of the local youngsters, supervising them as they fulfill their community hours obligated by previous bad behaviour.

I had my performance review on Wednesday.  I still find it a little embarrassing that others have a higher opinion of my abilities than I do, but at least in this role there are no key results to prove.  It is all about the effort, and the philosophy behind it is to plant seeds that may hopefully germinate long after I have moved on.

I think back to my own youth, and realise I have quite a bit in common with some of my charges.  I also realise that I am modelling myself on some very important figures from my own formative years.  The late Peter Gruebner and Guthrie Stewart being the principal pair.  I like to believe they would approve of how I turned out after a rather shaky start. If just one of my kids remembers me as fondly as I remember those two I may have achieved something.

And that’s enough introspection for now.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in autobiography, Philosophy, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Comment

