Back to Darwin

I have driven up to Darwin. It seemed like good idea since I could not go home, I had a lot of leave available, and friends whom I have not seen for some time are currently here visiting relatives.  I took two days to travel, staying overnight in Katherine on Saturday. I would have liked to take the alternate route below (13 hr 55 min) but the Duncan is closed due to the Wet.

img_3637

Even on the highway I had to do a little wading over some floodways, but nothing deep or fun.  My Taistealaí purred along happily except for a couple of occasions when she faltered and died.  It seemed as if she had run out of fuel.  She started again and took me safely to my destination.  But the next day I noticed that one headlight had died. I also saw that the warning lights on the dash flickered occasionally without actually coming on.  I took her to the Toyota dealer in Darwin for a checkup.  They confirmed a wiring problem and fixed it.  Or so I thought.  Today I went out sightseeing with my friend Bob, and we found ourselves out at East Point when she died again. This time she would not start.  A call to the RAC/AAA and were were collected by tow truck and taken back to Bridge Toyota.  Tomorrow I hope to learn what was wrong, and that it has been fixed.  I am just glad it happened here and not somewhere out in the outback.

It is great to be reunited with old friends and to hear language and Pijin being spoken again.  IMG_3629.JPG

The ride to Darwin is a pleasant one with some very scenic ancient hills. On this trip I finally had the means to photograph the waterfall on the road to Kununurra.  It was diminishing when I passed this time, but at last I caught an image of it.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in autobiography, Photography, travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Comment

