Spéir Súl

At last my new toy has arrived.

To cheer myself up, and because I fell deeply in love with Jake’s when we took it out last week, I bought a drone with a really good camera.  The DJI Phantom 4 Pro. This will replace the GoPro I lost, and then some.

I have named it Spéir Súl, which is Irish for “Sky Eye”. It sounds better in Irish.

It was not cheap, this new toy, but I rationalise the purchase by considering it to be a new stage in my photography adventure, plus it will enable me to see, and photograph, places I can no longer access on foot. Besides. I am on my own now, and how I spend my money and my time is my own affair.

That seems a little defensive, so perhaps I do feel a little guilt.  But I’ll get over it.

Today I took her out to Palm Springs for her maiden voyage.  I wanted to film the rock I am no longer able to climb, and the view from the top I can no longer get to.  However, the drone would not fly for me, because before it’s first flight the software that controls it from my iPad demands that I register and activate it first.  Of course, that requires connection to the internet, and there is not even phone reception out there.

Mission aborted.  Try again tomorrow.

7D584B8F-29B6-47F4-A29F-6F0D30A17025-1923-00000366147CBC93

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in autobiography, Hobby, Photography, travel, Wildlife and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Spéir Súl

  1. Bob says:

    Cool machine, very jealous. Are you over your guilt yet, I can imagine why that should take long it looks great fun.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alan says:

    The guilt was a fleeting thing. I deserve this new toy. Already it takes me where once I could have wandered, but now I can get to otherwise only in my imagination.

    Like

Please leave a Comment

