Return

I have been out of touch for a while. At the beginning of June I returned to my post in Billiluna.  The donga was not yet ready, there was no stove or oven, or even a decent lock on the door, but I had been away too long and was told I needed to return.  A new improved NBN (National BroadbandNetwork) satellite link had been installed for me, but unfortunately they had not seen fit to supply it with WiFi.  Since my trashed computer has not yet been replaced, and since my own Macbook and iPad do not have Ethernet connection, I have been off-line.  I am now back in Halls Creek for a training course. Hopefully when I return I shall be taking with me the necessary things to get me back on line.  I hope so, because I have wasted two months subscription to Netflix already.

Lake Stretch is really interesting at present.  The Sturt is no longer flowing through it but the level is quite high still.  It appears to be teeming with fish, because it is teeming with birds.  In the three years I have been visiting this little lake I have never seen so many birds there. There are literally hundreds of pelicans hanging around taking a break from their migration.  I am told the rangers spotted one with a tag and captured it to check. They found it had been tagged in Germany.

There are scores of cormorants, herons and small ducks, as well as kites, eagles, kingfishers hovering above. I saw honeybirds and budgies too.  I love the budgies but they are so shy and hard to approach.  I haven’t taken any photos yet. I shall post some soon. If they are still there on my return at the end of the week.

I still have no oven, and am now somewhat bored with cooking only what I can prepare using a slow cooker or electric frypan; though being a resourceful sort of fellow there is actually quite a bit I can do with those tools.  Nonetheless it is always irksome not to be able to do something one wants to do.  A pizza prepared in a frypan is not quite right. Especially as I have a brand new replacement pizza stone waiting to be used.

IMG_0307

Can it be done?

IMG_0309

Yes it can, sort of.

 

 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in autobiography. Bookmark the permalink.

Please leave a Comment

