The Last Post

Bukowski Insight

The thing about poetry
I learned from Bukowski
Is not that it must rhyme
Or follow metric time
But that it must be
Sincere.
In honesty
Is vulnerability.
It is hard to say
What the heart would say
Were it but free.

If I were young again
And knew
What I know
I would be free.
It is too late now
To do what I would do
Had I but known.

© ARF May 2023

This is the end. I have used up my free allocation of gigabytes.

I may start a new blog. If so, there will be a link below.

But first, I ask my gentle reader whether I should even bother at all to continue this intermittent journal, scrapbook and collection of poems, essays and stories. Respond in the comments section please.

Author: Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.

Please leave a Comment